KEY TO THE CITY - USA City Directory Top USA City Resource Guide

US Facts
Footsteps of
It Happened Here
Mottos, Slogans
and Nicknames
Noted Notables

State of Delaware


Delaware Counties
Geographic Areas

The Counties of Delaware


Kent County

Sussex County

New Castle County

Return to Top

Geographic Area

Delaware has only three counties, the smallest number in a state in the entire country. The Government in New Castle and Sussex counties is known as the County Council and as the Levy Court in Kent County.
Unlike most other states, most typical county functions, such as law enforcement and court issues, are centralized with the state government rather than with the county. There was an attempt in 2000 to add a fourth county, proposed to be named Appoquinimink County, but the measure failed.

Return to Top

Search Key to the City only
Custom Search
or Search on the Web
Custom Search

Return to the Delaware Page

Return to the Key to the City home page

Thanks for visiting Key to the City. We hope you will visit again soon. We'll leave the light on for you!!

This page was last updated on 11 June 2011 at 9:01 pm

This page was created on 20 October 2004

This page, and all contents, are Copyright (C) by Key to the City, Norco, California, USA.